Mary Elizabeth Smith

Leave a comment

January 31, 2013 by e31978

I was cleaning my room and I found a small green card with white flowers on it. I opened it thinking it would be a thank you card of some sort.  It read:  Happy Birthday to my girls.  I love you very much. Wish I could see you.  Not much of a card but it’s all I had.  Come up.  Happy 16th Lilith.  Love you both.  Grandma Mary.

My Grandma Mary died a few weeks ago.  I can’t remember the last time I saw her.  She lived in Washington and I live in Louisiana.  The card was sent almost a year ago.  My daughter and I both have birthdays in March.  She sent us a card and told us she loved us and wanted to see us.  I stopped cleaning and cried.  I love her and miss her and wish I could talk to her in person.  She was easy going and funny.  She was a good cook and knew how to can, dehydrate, garden, and many more things that I probably don’t know.  She liked to drink beer now and then, used mayonnaise as a moisturizer, kept a coffee can by the sink for compost scraps (just like I do), she folded and rotated her towels the same as I do.    She took care of me when I was little and most of my childhood memories of Washington have her in them.  I just had to tell someone, even if it was myself that I miss her and love her so much and I wish I had seen her more.  There was so much time that we did not have together.  Thank you Grandma Mary for the card. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
